News




HE Saeed Mohammed Al Tayer receives Speaker of Utah House of Representatives and accompanying delegation from the Unified Economic Opportunity Commission of Utah, USA

September 19, 2022  

HE Saeed Mohammed Al Tayer, MD&CEO of Dubai Electricity and Water Authority (DEWA), met a delegation from the Unified Economic Opportunity Commission of the Utah House of Representatives, USA. He highlighted DEWA’s projects and initiatives that are guided by the vision of HH Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Vice President and Prime Minister of the UAE and Ruler of Dubai.

The delegation was led by Brad Wilson, Speaker of Utah House Representatives and included Senator Scott Sandall from the Unified Economic Opportunity Commission of the Utah House of Representatives. The visit aimed to discuss bilateral cooperation and learn about DEWA’s ambitious initiatives and innovative development projects in the water and renewable and clean energy sectors, in line with the wise leadership’s vision. The visitors also learned about Dubai's exemplary experience in providing advanced and integrated infrastructure for electricity and water according to the highest standards of reliability, availability, and efficiency to meet the increasing demand and keep pace with sustainable development needs.

The meeting was attended by Waleed Bin Salman, Executive Vice President of Business Development and Excellence; Dr. Yousef Al Akraf, Executive Vice President of Business Support and Human Resources, and Marwan Bin Haidar, Executive Vice President of Innovation and The Future at DEWA.

Al Tayer welcomed the American delegation, explaining DEWA’s work, activities, development and continuous progress in its services. He highlighted DEWA’s key projects, especially the Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum Solar Park, the largest single-site solar park in the world, using the Independent Power Producer (IPP) model. It will have a production capacity of 5,000 megawatts by 2030. Al Tayer also talked about the pumped-storage hydroelectric power plant in Hatta using clean energy which is the first in the GCC area, the Green Hydrogen project, the first of its kind in the Middle East and North Africa, and DEWA’s other key projects and strategic initiatives that support the Dubai Clean Energy Strategy 2050 and the Dubai Net Zero Carbon Emissions Strategy 2050 to provide 100% of Dubai’s total power capacity from clean energy sources by 2050.

Al Tayer also talked about DEWA’s new headquarters, called Al-Shera’a (Arabic for sail), which will be the tallest, largest, and smartest government Zero Energy building in the world. Total energy used in the building during a year will be equal to or less than the energy produced on-site during that year. DEWA’s new headquarters is designed to receive a platinum rating by LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) and a gold rating from the WELL Building Standard.

Al Tayer explained that DEWA has plans to invest AED 40 billion in capital expenditure in five years, especially to expand renewable and clean energy projects. DEWA has a robust infrastructure capable of meeting the growing demand, supporting the growth of the green economy, and enhancing the competitiveness of the UAE in clean energy and energy efficiency technologies. DEWA has adopted the Independent Power and Water Producer (IPWP) model, contributing to a significant decrease in capital expenditure per megawatt of installed energy. DEWA has attracted investments of about AED 40 billion using this model. DEWA has also achieved many world records for the lowest price (levelized cost) of solar energy and desalinated water, making Dubai a global benchmark for solar energy and desalinated water prices.

Al Tayer also said that DEWA is committed to maintaining its global position as one of the most distinguished and pioneering utilities in the world. It is keen to enrich the customer experience through digital services that save their time and efforts by using the latest disruptive technologies of the fourth industrial revolution including Artificial Intelligence (AI) tools. Through Digital DEWA, its digital arm, DEWA works to redefine the concept of a utility by contributing to creating a new digital future for Dubai and become the first digital utility in the world with autonomous systems for renewable energy and storage, with the expansion of AI and digital services.

The visiting delegation said American companies were interested in participating in DEWA’s projects, especially those related to clean energy, as well as exchanging experiences, information, technologies and best international practices. They stressed the importance of discussing cooperation opportunities and strengthening bilateral relations.

 

Poll

How did you find the experience of browsing our site?

Vote

No option has been selected
H

اخبار




معالي سعيد محمد الطاير يستقبل رئيس مجلس نواب ولاية يوتا الأمريكية على رأس وفد اللجنة الموحدة للفرص الاقتصادية التابعة لمجلس شيوخ الولاية

١٩ سبتمبر, ٢٠٢٢  

استعرض معالي سعيد محمد الطاير، العضو المنتدب الرئيس التنفيذي لهيئة كهرباء ومياه دبي أمام وفد اللجنة الموحدة للفرص الاقتصادية التابعة لمجلس الشيوخ في ولاية يوتا الأمريكية مشاريع ومبادرات الهيئة التي تستند إلى رؤية صاحب السمو الشيخ محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم نائب رئيس الدولة رئيس مجلس الوزراء حاكم دبي، رعاه الله.

جاء ذلك خلال استقبال معاليه  لبراد ويلسون، رئيس مجلس نواب ولاية يوتا الأمريكية على رأس وفد من اللجنة الموحدة للفرص الاقتصادية التابعة لمجلس الشيوخ في الولاية ، ضم السناتور سكوت ساندال، في زيارة هدفت إلى بحث سبل التعاون المشترك والتعرف على المبادرات الطموحة والمشاريع التطويرية الرائدة والمبتكرة التي تنفذها الهيئة تحقيقاً لرؤية القيادة الرشيدة في المجالات المتعلقة بقطاعي المياه والطاقة المتجددة والنظيفة، والاطلاع على تجربة دبي النموذجية في توفير بنية تحتية متطورة ومتكاملة للكهرباء والمياه وفق أعلى معايير الاعتمادية والتوافرية والكفاءة لتلبية الطلب المتزايد ومواكبة احتياجات التنمية المستدامة.

حضر اللقاء من جانب الهيئة كل من المهندس وليد بن سلمان، النائب التنفيذي للرئيس لقطاع تطوير الأعمال والتميز، والدكتور يوسف الأكرف، النائب التنفيذي للرئيس لقطاع دعم الأعمال والموارد البشرية، والمهندس مروان بن حيدر، النائب التنفيذي للرئيس لقطاع الابتكار والمستقبل.

ورحب معالي سعيد محمد الطاير بالوفد الأمريكي، شارحاً عمل الهيئة وأنشطتها وتطورها والتقدم المستمر في خدماتها، كما تطرق لعدد من مشروعات الهيئة الكبرى وأهمها مجمع محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم للطاقة الشمسية، أكبر مشاريع الطاقة الشمسية في موقع واحد على مستوى العالم، وفق نظام المنتج المستقل، وبقدرة إنتاجية ستصل إلى 5000 ميجاوات بحلول 2030، ومشروع المحطة الكهرومائية بتقنية الطاقة المائية المخزنة في حتا، باستخدام الطاقة النظيفة وهو المشروع الأول من نوعه في منطقة الخليج، ومشروع "الهيدروجين الأخضر" الذي دشنته الهيئة في مجمع محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم للطاقة الشمسية في دبي، ويعد المشروع التجريبي الأول من نوعه في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا لإنتاج الهيدروجين الأخضر، وأهم المشاريع التطويرية والمبادرات الاستراتيجية الأخرى التي تنفذها الهيئة في إمارة دبي تماشياً مع أهداف استراتيجية دبي للطاقة النظيفة 2050 ومبادرة الحياد الكربوني 2050 لإمارة دبي لتوفير 100% من القدرة الإنتاجية للطاقة من مصادر الطاقة النظيفة بحلول العام 2050.

كما تحدث معاليه عن المبنى الرئيسي الجديد لهيئة هيئة كهرباء ومياه دبي الذي يحمل اسم "مبنى الشراع"، وسيكون أعلى وأكبر وأذكى مبنى حكومي صفري الطاقة في العالم. ويعادل إجمالي الطاقة المستخدمة في المبنى على مدار العام أو يقل عن الطاقة التي ينتجها. وتم تصميم المبنى للحصول على التصنيف البلاتيني الخاص بالمباني الخضراء - الريادة في الطاقة والتصميم البيئي (LEED)، ووفق معايير نظام (WELL) الذهبي العالمي للمباني الخضراء.

وأوضح معالي الطاير أنه لدى هيئة كهرباء ومياه دبي خطط لاستثمار 40 مليار درهم في النفقات الرأسمالية خلال خمس سنوات، لا سيما للتوسع في مشروعات الطاقة المتجددة والنظيفة. وتمتلك الهيئة بنية تحتية قوية لتلبية الطلب المتزايد ودعم نمو الاقتصاد الأخضر وتعزيز تنافسية دولة الإمارات في مجال الطاقة النظيفة وتقنيات كفاءة الطاقة. وقد اعتمدت الهيئة نموذج المنتج المستقل للطاقة والمياه (IPWP)، والذي أسهم في انخفاض كبير في الإنفاق الرأسمالي لكل ميجاوات من الطاقة المركبة، واستقطبت الهيئة استثمارات بنحو 40 مليار درهم باستخدام هذا النموذج. وحققت الهيئة العديد من الأرقام القياسية العالمية في أقل تكلفة لأسعار الطاقة الشمسية والمياه المحلاة، ما جعل دبي معيارًا عالميًا لأسعار الطاقة الشمسية والمياه المحلاة.

وقال معالي سعيد محمد الطاير أن الهيئة تلتزم بالمحافظة على مكانتها العالمية بوصفها واحدة من أكثر المؤسسات الخدماتية تميزاً وريادة على مستوى العالم، وتحرص على إثراء تجربة المتعاملين من خلال خدمات رقمية توفر وقتهم وجهدهم بالاعتماد على أحدث التقنيات الإحلالية للثورة الصناعية الرابعة بما في ذلك أدوات الذكاء الاصطناعي لتقديم خدمات ذكية، سلسة، استباقية ومتكاملة، تواكب توقعات المتعاملين. وتعمل الهيئة من خلال "ديوا الرقمية"، ذراعها الرقمي، على إعادة صياغة مفهوم المؤسسات الخدماتية والمساهمة في تكوين مستقبل رقمي جديد لإمارة دبي، لتكون أول مؤسسة رقمية على مستوى العالم، بأنظمة ذاتية التحكم للطاقة المتجددة وتخزينها، مع التوسع في استعمال الذكاء الاصطناعي والخدمات الرقمية.

ومن جهته، أبدى الوفد الزائر اهتمامه بمشاركة الشركات الأمريكية في مشروعات الهيئة، لا سيما المتعلقة بالطاقة النظيفة، وتبادل الخبرات والمعلومات والتقنيات وأفضل الممارسات العالمية، مشدداً على أهمية بحث فرص التعاون المشتركة وتعزيز العلاقات الثنائية.

 

استفتاء

كيف وجدت تجربة تصفحك لموقع مؤسسة دبي للإعلام؟

صوّت هنا

لم يتم اختيار أي من الآراء
H