News




85% of Hope Probe project completed; mission ready to be launched in less than 500 days

April 22, 2019  

Hope Probe to be launched in July 2020 as scheduled
Initial tests and verification of systems and communication capabilities completed
Five environmental tests on the Probe to be conducted from June to December 2019

 The UAE Space Agency and Mohammed bin Rashid Space Centre (MBRSC) announced that 85% of the Hope Probe project has been completed. In a joint statement, the two organisations confirmed that most of the main parts of the project have been completed and are currently undergoing intensive testing to ensure every aspect of the Probe is ready for activation a few months before the launch date.

The Probe has already entered an intensive testing phase to ensure its readiness before the launch date, with less than 500 days are remaining for the launch. It is planned to reach Mars by 2021, coinciding with the 50th anniversary of the founding of the UAE. Several aspects related to the design, assembly of the structure, cameras and control have been verified. So far, the Probe’s systems and components, as well as its ability to communicate with the ground station have been checked by the team. The Probe has succeeded in all the tests it has been subject to so far, ahead of the five environmental tests to be conducted on the probe from June to December 2019.

The scientific devices the probe will be using, including The Emirates eXploration imager (EXI), Emirates Mars Ultraviolet Spectrometer (EMUS), and the Emirates Mars Infrared Spectrometer (EMIRS), are ready. The EMUS has been successfully mounted on the Probe.  These devices are key to achieving the objectives of the scientific mission, which is a deeper and wider understanding of the Martian atmosphere, and the study of climate change and its relationship to atmospheric erosion, which was one of the reasons for the disappearance of liquid water from the surface of the planet.

Another unique aspect of this mission is that for the first time, a Mars exploration project will be able to take a global picture of the Martian atmosphere. It will do so by taking an integrated picture of the atmosphere throughout the day and for a long period of time, helping to capture data on the planet’s atmosphere in different seasons across the year. This data will be made available to the global community.

His Excellency Dr. Ahmad Belhoul Al Falasi, Minister of State for Higher Education and Advanced Skills and Chairman of the UAE Space Agency, said: “The Emirates Mars Mission’s Hope Probe is almost complete. The UAE is on the verge of making history, after turning its dream of becoming the first Arabic and Islamic country to send a spacecraft to Mars into reality. This monumental endeavour is the culmination of the efforts of a skilled and experienced team of young Emiratis, who with the support of the nation and its visionary leadership will secure the UAE’s position at the forefront of space exploration and the international space sector.”

“The UAE, through this ambitious project, has positioned itself amongst the leading countries in the field of space exploration and advanced space manufacturing. The project has so far showcased the level of capabilities and world-class facilities that are available in the UAE. The development and launch of the Hope Probe to Mars would not have been possible without the inspired guidance of the UAE’s leadership, whose trust in, and support of young talented Emiratis has enabled our nation to achieve success across a range of sectors and industries,” added HE Dr. Al Falasi

HE Dr. Al Falasi commended the outstanding team responsible for the Emirates Mars Mission at the Mohammed Bin Rashid Space Centre (MBRSC), applauding its professionalism throughout all phases of the project, from the design of the Hope Probe to its construction and testing. His Excellency also highlighted how international experts who visited the UAE to review the project had admired the dedication and expertise of the Emirates Mars Mission team.

His Excellency Hamad Obaid Al Mansoori, said, “We are very pleased with the stage we have reached in the Hope Probe. We will continue to do more for our beloved country, to add to the UAE’s list of achievements, in a new field that is not only related to the future of our dear country, but to the future of the entire humanity”.

Al Mansoori stressed that space exploration is no longer a dream for the UAE, it has become a reality through major projects done by Emirati youth, most notably, the Hope Probe. He highlighted that the Hope Probe represents the Arab world’s hopes for reviving Arab civilisation with the help of Arab youth who are capable of achieving the vision of a project such as the Emirates Mars Mission (EMM).

An advanced stage

His Excellency Yousuf Hamad Al Shaibani, Director General of MBRSC, said, “Completing 85% of the Hope Probe in this short period was a great challenge that we overcame through the guidance of our wise leadership and the efforts of our youth. The UAE has reached an advanced stage in achieving our wise leadership’s vision to reach the Mars orbit in December 2021. According to the directives of His Highness Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Vice President and Prime Minister of the UAE and Ruler of Dubai, the Hope Probe is set to arrive in Mars in 2021 to coincide with the 50thanniversary of the founding of the UAE.”

His Excellency Dr. Eng. Mohammed Nasser Al Ahbabi, Director General of the UAE Space Agency, said: “As the development of the Hope Probe enters its final stages, we mark yet another milestone achievement for this aspirational project. The next and final stage, prior to the Probe’s launch, will involve testing the probe’s readiness to operate in outer space.  This is an important step towards the successful conclusion of the Probe’s development, as extensive testing will allow us to optimise the Probe and ensure its systems are fully operational.”

“We have made significant progress in the completion of the EMM – Hope Probe. We have completed 85% of the project, while the manufacturing will be completed by 2020, and the probe will be sent to Mars by 2021, with the UAE celebrating the Golden Jubilee of its founding,” said Omran Sharaf, Project Manager of EMM – Hope Probe.

"We have developed several solutions for many technical and scientific challenges that we faced in the past years in the design and manufacture of the Hope Probe. With the launch time approaching, the UAE leadership’s vision became clear in the selection of Mars exploration as an objective to change the culture of the Emirati community and enhance the skills of its youth. More importantly, the UAE’s wise leadership seeks to find teams capable of facing future challenges in all fields, not just in the space sector,” added Sharaf.

"The approach that we have followed in developing the Hope Probe is unique and unprecedented. Through our research, the team has been able to reach solutions that will change scientific concepts,” continued Sharaf.

MBRSC is responsible for the implementation and supervision of EMM – Hope Probe, and its various scientific, educational and awareness initiatives. The Centre is also responsible for the execution and supervision of all stages of the design, development and launch of the Hope Probe in 2020. The UAE Space Agency (UAESA) is funding and supervising procedures and necessary details for the implementation of this project. Following a journey of seven months, the Probe is expected to enter the Red Planet’s orbit in 2021, coinciding with the Golden Jubilee of the Union.

The objectives of the Emirates Mars Mission – Hope Probe were developed in accordance with MEPAG, the global scientific community specialised in Mars exploration and coordinated with international entities to ensure the best results. This will be an important addition to the global efforts to explore space and the surrounding planets. For the first time, a Mars exploration project will be able to take a global picture of the Martian atmosphere. It will do so by taking an integrated picture of the atmosphere throughout the day and for a long period of time, helping to create an better understanding of the planet’s atmosphere in different seasons of the year.

Poll

How did you find the experience of browsing our site?

Vote

No option has been selected

اخبار




جاهزية "مسبار الأمل" بنسبة 85%.. والإطلاق إلى المريخ بعد أقل من 500 يوم

22 أبريل, 2019  

تطلقه الإمارات تأكيداً لمشاركة العرب في تشكيل مستقبل الإنسانية
جاهزية "مسبار الأمل" بنسبة 85%.. والإطلاق إلى المريخ بعد أقل من 500 يوم
انطلاق المسبار نحو المريخ يوليو 2020 ضمن الإطار الزمني لـمهلة الإطلاق
نجاح جميع الاختبارات الأولية وإتمام التأكد من عمل المسبار بجميع أنظمته وقدرات التواصل مع المحطة الأرضية
خمسة اختبارات بيئية يجريها الفريق على المسبار من يونيو إلى ديسمبر 2019

أعلنت وكالة الإمارات للفضاء، ومركز "محمد بن راشد للفضاء"، جاهزية "مسبار الأمل" بنسبة 85%، وأوضح بيان مشترك الانتهاء من معظم الأجزاء الرئيسية للمسبار الذي يشكل محور مشروع دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة لاستكشاف الكوكب الأحمر في أول مشروع من نوعه عربياً للخروج للفضاء للكشف عن أسراره والمشاركة في دعم الجهود العلمية للتعرف على الكواكب الأخرى؛ تأكيداً للدور الرئيس الذي تسعى الدولة للقيام به في مضمار أبحاث واكتشافات الفضاء، وفتح الباب لمشاركة العرب مجدداً في صنع مستقبل الحضارة الإنسانية.

وأشار البيان إلى دخول المسبار بالفعل مرحلة اختبارات مكثفة لضمان جهوزيته قبل موعد الإطلاق، وأن المدة المتبقية لإطلاق المسبار تقل عن 500 يوم، إذ من المخطط أن يصل إلى المريخ بحلول العام 2021؛ تزامناً مع الاحتفال بمرور خمسين عاماً على قيام اتحاد دولة الإمارات. وقد تم الانتهاء من التحقق من عدة جوانب متعلقة بالبرمجيات وتركيب الهيكل والكاميرات والتحكم، كذلك تمام التأكد من عمل المسبار بجميع أنظمته ومكوناته وقدرته على التواصل مع المحطة الأرضية، إضافة إلى نجاح جميع الاختبارات الخاصة بالمسبار حتى الآن؛ تمهيداً للاختبارات البيئية الخمسة التي سيجريها الفريق على المسبار من يونيو إلى ديسمبر هذا العام.

وفيما يتعلق بالأجهزة العلمية التي سيُزوّد بها المسبار، أوضح البيان، أنها ستشمل كاميرا الاستكشاف Emirates exploration Imager (EXI)، المقياس الطيفي بالأشعة فوق البنفسجية EMUS))، والمقياس الطيفي بالأشعة تحت الحمراء EMIRS))، مشيرا إلى أن هذه الأجهزة أصبحت جاهزة. وتعتبر هذه الأجهزة جزءًا رئيسيًا؛ لتحقيق الأهداف العلمية للمشروع، والتي تتلخص في فهم أعمق وأوسع للغلاف الجوي للمريخ، ودراسة التغيرات المناخية وعلاقتها بتآكل الغلاف الجوي، الذي كان أحد أسباب اختفاء الماء السائل من سطح الكوكب.

ولأول مرة، سيتمكن مشروع لاستكشاف المريخ، من التقاط صورة متكاملة للغلاف الجوي وعلى مدار اليوم خلال الفصول المختلفة على الكوكب، وستكون البيانات متوفرة للمجتمع الدولي حول العالم.

ومن جانبه، قال معالي الدكتور أحمد بن عبدالله بالهول الفلاسي، وزير الدولة لشؤون التعليم العالي والمهارات المتقدمة رئيس مجلس إدارة وكالة الإمارات: "يقترب "مسبار الأمل" من الإنجاز وتقترب معه لحظات تاريخية تتحول فيها طموحات دولة الإمارات في الوصول للكوكب الأحمر إلى واقع ملموس، وهي لحظات ستتوج جهود فريق شباب من خيرة أبناء الوطن، الذين أرادوا أن يكون للدولة شأن كبير في الجهود العلمية العالمية لاستكشاف الفضاء الخارجي، فسعوا إلى جمع الخبرات والمقدرات لتسخيرها في خدمة هذا المشروع الاستثنائي".

وأضاف معاليه: "تحجز دولة الإمارات من خلال هذا المشروع الطموح مكانتها بين الدولة المتقدمة في مجال استكشاف الفضاء الخارجي والتصنيع الفضائي المتطور، ما يؤكد حجم المقدرات والكفاءات والمرافق العالمية المستوى التي تزخر بها الدولة لإنجاز مثل هذا المشروع، وهو ما تحقق بفضل ثقة القيادة الرشيدة بشباب الوطن، وتوفيرها كافة أشكال الدعم والرعاية لهم ليتمكنوا من مواصلة مسيرة الإنجازات والنجاحات عير مختلف القطاعات والمجالات".

وأثنى معاليه على فريق العمل المتميز في مركز محمد بن راشد للفضاء الذي يعمل على تطوير المشروع، وأشاد بالمستوى العالي من الحرفية في تنفيذه وإنجاز مختلف مراحله من التصميم إلى التجميع والاختبارات، وهي التي جرت بشكل لقي إعجاب جميع من زار الدولة واطلع على هذا المشروع.

انجاز نوعي

وبهذه المناسبة، قال سعادة حمد عبيد المنصوري، رئيس مجلس إدارة مركز محمد بن راشد للفضاء: "نسير وفق الجدول الزمني المحدد للمشروع، ونحن سعداء بالمرحلة التي وصلنا إليها في العمل على "مسبار الأمل"، ومستمرون في مضاعفة الجهد نحو تحقيق إنجاز نوعي يضاف إلى رصيد إنجازات دولة الإمارات في مجال جديد لا يرتبط فقط بمستقبل دولتنا الغالية، لكن بمستقبل الإنسانية على وجه العموم.

وأكد أن اكتشاف الفضاء وكشف أسراره والبحث في أعماقه لم يعد حلماً يراود علماء الإمارات، بل تحول على يد أبنائها إلى واقع تجسده حقائق ملموسة ومشاريع عملاقة، تعمل عليها سواعد وطنية شابة، ونعتز بأن يكون "مسبار الأمل" أبرز تلك المشاريع الطموحة.

وأضاف المنصوري، أن رسالة "مسبار الأمل" هي إحياء أمل الشعوب العربية في استئناف المشاركة في صنع الحضارة العالمية مجددًا، بوجود سواعد وطنية قادرة على تحقيق رؤية بحجم رؤية مشروع الإمارات لاستكشاف المريخ، ودليل يكشف قدرتنا على استعادة الدور الحضاري.

مرحلة متقدمة

من جانبه، قال سعادة يوسف حمد الشيباني، مدير عام مركز محمد بن راشد للفضاء، إن دولة الإمارات بلغت مرحلة متقدمة نحو تحقيق رؤية القيادة الرشيدة بالوصول إلى المريخ في الموعد المحدد له في ديسمبر من العام 2021، وهو الموعد الذي وجّه صاحب السمو الشيخ محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم، نائب رئيس الدولة رئيس مجلس الوزراء حاكم دبي، رعاه الله، بضرورة تحقيقه تزامناً مع ذكرى مرور خمسين عاماً على قيام اتحاد دولة الإمارات.

وأشار "الشيباني" إلى أن اكتمال "مسبار الأمل" بنسبة 85% في فترة وجيزة يعد تحدياً كبيراً، اجتزناه بتوجيهات القيادة الرشيدة، وعقول وسواعد الشباب الإماراتي الذي لا يعرف المستحيل.

في الوقت ذاته، أكد سعادة الدكتور المهندس محمد ناصر الأحبابي مدير عام وكالة الإمارات للفضاء، إن وصول مشروع "مسبار الأمل" إلى مراحل تطويره الأخيرة هو إنجاز آخر ضمن سجل نجاحات متميزة حققها هذا المشروع الطموح منذ انطلاقته، معتبراً أن المرحلة المقبلة من الاختبارات للتأكد من عمل "مسبار الأمل" على أكمل وجه ضمن بيئة وظروف الفضاء الخارجي هي من بين أهم المراحل، والتي ستؤكد ما إن جرى تطويره بالشكل الأمثل وما هي التعديلات المطلوبة التي يجب إجرائها.

وفي السياق ذاته، أكد عمران شرف، مدير مشروع الإمارات لاستكشاف المريخ (مسبار الأمل)، أننا قطعنا شوطاً كبيراً في إنجاز مشروع الإمارات الاستكشاف المريخ، وقد وصلنا لنسبة انجاز 85% من المشروع فيما سيتم الانتهاء من التصنيع في عام 2020، وإرساله إلى المريخ ووصوله بحلول 2021؛ تزامناً مع احتفال دولة الإمارات باليوبيل الذهبي.

وأضاف، "تمكنا من وضع الحلول والتصورات اللازمة للتغلب على العديد من التحديات التقنية والعلمية التي واجهتنا في السنوات الماضية خلال تصميم وتصنيع مسبار الأمل، ومع اقتراب موعد إطلاق المسبار تتبلور الأهداف المنشودة من اتخاذ القيادة الرشيدة للقرار الاستراتيجي المتمثل في استكشاف المريخ كهدف لإكساب مجتمع دولة الإمارات ثقافة جديدة تركز في جوهرها على المستقبل فضلا عن صقل مهارات شبابها ورفع كفاءة الصناعة الإماراتية وإيجاد فريق عمل قادر على مواجهة التحديات المستقبلية في جميع المجالات وليس فقط في قطاع الفضاء".

وتابع، "يعتبر المنهج الذي تم اتباعه في تطوير مسبار الأمل فريد من نوعه ولم يسبق له مثيل، واستطاع الفريق من خلال الأبحاث التي قمنا بها إلى الوصول لحلول ستغير من المفاهيم العلمية".

ويتولى مركز "محمد بن راشد للفضاء" عملية التنفيذ والإشراف على مشروع الإمارات لاستكشاف المريخ ومبادراته العلمية والتعليمية والتوعوية المختلفة، كذلك يشرف المركز على كافة مراحل عملية تصميم وتنفيذ وإرسال المسبار للفضاء في العام 2020. وتقوم وكالة الإمارات للفضاء بالتمويل والإشراف العام على هذا المشروع، ومن المخطط أن تستغرق هذه الرحلة سبعة أشهر ليدخل المسبار مداره حول الكوكب الأحمر في العام 2021، والذي يتزامن مع احتفالات دولة الإمارات باليوبيل الذهبي الخمسين ليومها الوطني.

جدير بالذكر، أن أهداف مهمة "مسبار الأمل" قد تم وضعها بالتنسيق مع المجتمع العلمي العالمي المتخصص باستكشاف المريخ، والجهات الدولية ذات الصلة، لضمان أعلى مردود إيجابي لهذه الرحلة التي ستشكل إضافة مهمة للجهود العالمية لاكتشاف الفضاء والكواكب المحيطة في المرة الأولى التي سيتمكن فيها مشروع عربي فضائي من التقاط صورة متكاملة للغلاف الجوي للمريخ وعلى مدار اليوم وخلال الفصول المختلفة للسنة على الكوكب.

استفتاء

كيف وجدت تجربة تصفحك لموقع مؤسسة دبي للإعلام؟

صوّت هنا

لم يتم اختيار أي من الآراء