News




Global Grad Show Opens: The world’s largest and most diverse gathering of universities is now open to the public

November 15, 2019  

·  150 graduate projects address solutions for a better future, addressing issues ranging from health and science, to gender and education

·  This year’s expanded programme includes an Entrepreneurship Programme supported by A.R.M. Holding, which has pledged a AED 10 million fund to advance projects into start-ups

The Global Grad Show, the only exhibition of its kind showcasing graduate projects from over 100 universities from 43 countries in the fields of design, science, technology and engineering, has opened at Dubai Design Week.

The most diverse edition to date of the unique exhibition, this year’s Global Grad Show features first-time participants such as Columbia University, Goldsmiths and The University of Pennsylvania, apart from leading universities from countries taking part for the first time, including Colombia, Kuwait and the Philippines.

Global Grad Show is a significant component of Dubai Design Week, which is being held under the patronage of Her Highness Sheikha Latifa bint Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Chairperson of Dubai Culture & Arts Authority. Earlier this year, Global Grad Show was named as a key initiative under the Dubai Culture & Arts Authority’s plan to evolve Dubai into a global hub for culture and innovation.

Her Highness Sheikha Latifa bint Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Chairperson of Dubai Culture & Arts Authority, said: “As a platform for the next generation of designers, Global Grad Show is one of the most vital elements of Dubai Design Week, offering unprecedented opportunities for students and graduates to present their work to organisations, investors and the wider public. The presentations feature design-driven solutions for a wide range of global challenges from climate change to accessibility to science and health. This initiative is at the heart of Dubai’s vision to create a brighter future for all people through progress and innovation.

Global Grad Show is a call to action for government and private entities to revisit their challenges and needs in response to current socioeconomic issues. I encourage all entities to engage with the students and collaborate to bring their ideas to life.”

His Excellency Mohammed I. Al Shaibani, Executive Director and Chief Executive Officer of Investment Corporation of Dubai, said: “With each year of Investment Corporation of Dubai’s participation at Global Grad Show, we have witnessed ever greater enthusiasm and interest from the international cultural, creative, and intellectual communities. This reception is a true endorsement to the calibre that the Global Grad Show has developed over its five years. It brings the most innovative minds to Dubai, and facilitates the advancement of society through new design solutions. These are key drivers for ICD's partnership with the Global Grad Show, and it gives me great pleasure to welcome everyone back to Dubai.”

Under the curation of Eleanor Watson, Global Grad Show explores how innovation can impact our lives through different spheres: The Human, The Home, The Community, The City and The Planet. Some of the projects correspond to themes such as health, wealth & disparity, gender & equality, sustainability, education and technology. The projects for Global Grad Show are selected based on their response to a range of criteria, as well as the four tenets of the exhibition: Innovation, Impact, Equality and Exchange.

Ranging from high-tech to low-tech solutions, highlight projects in the 2019 exhibition include: ‘Swiv’, a toothbrush for children with cognitive disabilities, allowing them to clean their teeth with a single physical motion; ‘Jarvis’, a mixed reality headset, enabling doctors to accurately measure the brain’s response to distractions or activities when conducting cognitive tests for severe head trauma, pharmaceutical efficacy and ADHD; and ‘Ro-Biotics’, a microscopic robot created from 4D printed materials to be ingested in place of an antibiotic, which captures infections in the blood stream.

Entrepreneurship Programme

Offering participating graduates the opportunity to advance their projects into start-ups, the Global Grad Show Entrepreneurship Programme invites graduates to interact with stakeholders from the entrepreneurship ecosystem and focuses on training that covers business skills and methodologies to develop their projects.

Mohammad AlShehhi, CEO of A.R.M. Holding said: “The decade-long investment we are making through the A.R.M fund for Global Grad Show speaks to our earnest dedication to social and economic endeavors working for the benefit of society. We are proud to be helping graduates from all over the world turn their innovative concepts into reality.”

The programme’s ambition is to support graduates to develop viable businesses and attract young innovation talent from around the world, to Dubai through the support of A.R.M. Holding and in line with the Emirate’s vision to elevate the level of talent flowing into the country and region.

Poll

How did you find the experience of browsing our site?

Vote

No option has been selected
H

اخبار




انطلاق النسخة الخامسة من "معرض الخريجين العالمي" ضمن فعاليات "أسبوع دبي للتصميم"

١٥ نوفمبر, ٢٠١٩  

خريجون من 100 جامعة في 43 دولة يقدمون مشاريع مبدعة وحلولاً مبتكرة لتحديات عالمية

المعرض يضم 150 مشروعاً في مجالات الصحة والعلوم والتعليم والمساواة بين الجنسين

تحت رعاية سمو الشيخة لطيفة بنت محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم، رئيسة هيئة الثقافة والفنون في دبي، وضمن فعاليات "أسبوع دبي للتصميم" انطلقت النسخة الخامسة من "معرض الخريجين العالمي" الملتقى الأكبر من نوعه لخريجي الجامعات على مستوى العالم بالشراكة مع مؤسسة دبي للاستثمارات الحكومية، ويضم المعرض الذي تمتد فعالياته حتى 16 نوفمبر الجاري، مجموعة كبيرة من المشاريع المبتكرة التي يقدمها خريجو أكثر من 100 جامعة في 43 دولة حول العالم في مجالات ابتكارية عدة أبرزها التصميم والعلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة بهدف تقديم حلول مبتكرة وإحداث تأثير إيجابي في حياة الأفراد والمجتمعات.

وفي هذه المناسبة، أكدت سمو الشيخة لطيفة بنت محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم، رئيسة هيئة الثقافة والفنون في دبي أهمية المعرض كونه يمثل منصة عالمية تجمع مواهب وطاقات شابة مبدعة من مختلف انحاء العالم، وكنافذة على المستقبل تقدمها دبي لكي يطلع من خلالها الطلاب والخريجون من داخل المنطقة ومناطق متفرقة من العالم على آفاق المستقبل الواعد الذي ينتظرهم، لتبقى دبي دائماً المنصة التي يحول من خلالها أصحاب الطموحات العريضة آمالهم إلى انجازات والجسر الذي يصل بهم إلى ما يرجونه من تميز ونجاح.

وقالت سموها: "أهداف المعرض تترجم رؤية صاحب السمو الشيخ محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم، نائب رئيس الدولة رئيس مجلس الوزراء حاكم دبي، رعاه الله، فيما يتعلق باستشراف مستقبل واعد يكون للشباب فيه الدور الأكبر في صنع ملامحه والنصيب الأوفر للاستفادة من فرصه، وتوجيهات سموه الدائمة بالتركيز على الإبداع والابتكار وتهيئة المقومات التي تعين الشباب على الارتقاء بمواهبهم ليكونوا قادرين على المشاركة بتأثير في بناء المستقبل. المعرض مناسبة طيبة لعرض أعمال الشباب وإبداعاتهم أمام المؤسسات والمستثمرين وكذلك الجمهور، لاسيما أن تلك الأعمال تحمل في طياتها حلولاً وتصميمات تسهم في معالجة العديد من التحديات التي يواجهها العالم اليوم على مستويات عدة".

وأعربت سموها عن أمالها في أن تولي المؤسسات الحكومية وكذلك شركات القطاع الخاص والمستثمرين اهتماماً أكبر بما يقدمه الشباب من حلول وأفكار ومشاريع ومبادرات، واعتبار ما يمكن الاستفادة منه وتوظيفه وترجمته إلى إنجازات على أرض الواقع تخدم المجتمعات وتضمن لأفرادها نوعية حياة أفضل وتفتح أمام الشباب آفاق أرحب للمشاركة بدور مؤثر في عليمات البناء والتطوير في بلدانهم وكل في مجال تخصصه. 

وتضم قائمة المشاركين في هذه الدورة من "معرض الخريجين العالمي" نخبة من الجامعات المرموقة على مستوى العالم، ومنها: جامعة كولومبيا، وكلية جولدسميث، وجامعة بنسيلفانيا، إلى جانب جامعات رائدة من دول تشارك للمرة الأولى مثل كولومبيا والكويت والفلبين.

شراكة مثمرة

من جهته، رحّب معالي محمد إبراهيم الشيباني، عضو مجلس الإدارة والرئيس التنفيذي لمؤسسة دبي للاستثمارات الحكومية بالمشاركين في النسخة الحالية من المعرض معرباً عن تقديره للشراكة المثمرة بين المؤسسة ومعرض الخريجين العالمي، وقال معاليه: "في إطار مشاركتها ضمن فعاليات المعرض في الدورات السابقة، شهدت المؤسسة مستويات متزايدة من الإقبال والاهتمام من المجتمعات الثقافية والإبداعية والفكرية على مستوى العالم. ويعد هذا الاقبال دلالة واضحة على المكانة الرفيعة تتمتع بها دبي كحاضنة للمبدعين من مختلف انحاء العالم، وكذلك الثقة الكبيرة التي حظي بها المعرض خلال سنواته الخمس بفضل قدرته على استقطاب أبرز العقول وأكثرها قدرة على الابتكار إلى دبي، وتمهيد الطريق لتطور المجتمع عبر حلول التصميم الجديدة.

ويعمل "معرض الخريجين العالمي"، بإشراف القيِّمَة الفنية إيليانور واتسون، على استكشاف تأثير الابتكار على حياة الناس عبر عدة جوانب تضم: الفرد، والمنزل، والمجتمع، والمدينة، والكوكب عبر مشاريع تتناول الصحة، والتفاوت في توزيع الثروات، والمساواة بين الجنسين، والاستدامة، والتعليم، والتكنولوجيا. وتم اختيار مشاريع "معرض الخريجين العالمي" بناءً على تلبيتها لمجموعة من المعايير، علاوة على المبادئ الأربعة الرئيسية للمعرض وهي: الابتكار، والأثر الايجابي، والمساواة، والتبادل.

مشاريع مبتكرة

وتتنوع أبرز المشاريع المشاركة في "معرض الخريجين العالمي 2019" بين التقنيات الناشئة والتقنيات المتطورة، ومن الأفكار المميزة في المعرض "سويف" (Swiv)، وهي فرشاة أسنان مخصصة للأطفال ممّن يُعانون من احتياجات إدراكية خاصة تتيح لهم تنظيف أسنانهم من خلال حركة جسدية واحدة،  و"جارفيس" (Jarvis) وهي سماعة رأس تعمل بنظام الواقع الهجين لتمكين الأطباء من قياس استجابة الدماغ للأنشطة وعوامل تشتيت الانتباه عند إجراء الاختبارات الإدراكية للمصابين بالصدمات القوية بالرأس واضطراب نقص الانتباه مع فرط النشاط والوقوف على فعالية المستحضرات الدوائية، و’رو-بيوتكس‘ (Ro-Biotics) وهو روبوت مجهري مصنوع من مواد مطبوعة بتقنية الطباعة رباعية الأبعاد، بحيث يتم ابتلاعه عوضاً عن المضاد الحيوي ليقوم بالتقاط الالتهابات في مجرى الدم.

برنامج ريادة الأعمال

ويقدم برنامج ريادة الأعمال للخريجين المشاركين في المعرض فرصة تطوير مشاريعهم إلى شركات ناشئة، ويدعوهم إلى التفاعل مع الأطراف المعنية من منظومة ريادة الأعمال ويركز على التدريب الذي يغطي مهارات الأعمال ومنهجيات تطوير المشاريع.

بدوره، قال محمد الشحي، الرئيس التنفيذي لمجموعة "أيه. آر. إم." القابضة: "يأتي استثمارنا الممتد على مدار عشرة أعوام في معرض الخريجين العالمي عبر صندوق "أيه. آر. إم." القابضة‘، تأكيداً على التزامنا الراسخ بدعم الجهود الاجتماعية والاقتصادية التي تصب في مصلحة المجتمع. ونفخر بمساعدة الخريجين من شتى أرجاء العالم لترجمة مفاهيمهم المبتكرة لإنجازات على أرض الواقع".

ويطمح البرنامج إلى دعم الخريجين لتمكينهم من تطوير شركات قادرة على النجاح والنمو، واستقطاب المواهب من شتى أنحاء العالم إلى دبي تماشياً مع رؤية الإمارة الرامية إلى استقطاب العقول المبدعة وبدعم من مجموعة "أيه. آر. إم." القابضة.

استفتاء

كيف وجدت تجربة تصفحك لموقع مؤسسة دبي للإعلام؟

صوّت هنا

لم يتم اختيار أي من الآراء
H