News




Ahmed bin Saeed inaugurates Solar Decathlon Middle East 2018 at Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum Solar Park

November 14, 2018  
Wednesday,14 November 2018

HH Sheikh Ahmed bin Saeed Al Maktoum, Chairman of the Dubai Supreme Council of Energy, has inaugurated the Solar Decathlon Middle East (SDME 2018). Dubai Electricity and Water Authority (DEWA) organises SDME under the patronage of HH Sheikh Hamdan bin Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Crown Prince of Dubai and Chairman of the Executive Council of Dubai, from 14 to 28 November 2018 at the Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum Solar Park in Seih Al Dahal in Dubai.

The opening ceremony was attended by HE Matar Humaid Al Tayer, Chairman of DEWA; HE Saeed Mohammed Al Tayer, Vice Chairman of the Dubai Supreme Council of Energy and MD & CEO of DEWA; HE Dawood Al Hajri, Director General of Dubai Municipality; HE Ahmed Buti Al Muhairbi, Secretary General of the Supreme Council of Energy; HE Mohammad Abdullah Abunayyan, Chairman of ACWA Power; Mohamed Jameel Al Ramahi CEO of Masdar, Najeeb Al Ali, Executive Director of Expo 2020 Dubai; Joan Glickman, Senior Advisor at the US Department of Energy, and ambassadors and consuls of countries represented in the competition, as well as the media.

His Highness Sheikh Ahmed bin Saeed Al Maktoum toured the competition site, accompanied by HE Matar Al Tayer and HE Saeed Al Tayer. They viewed the smart and sustainable homes, which have been designed and built by 15 teams representing 28 universities from 11 countries around the world.

“Under the patronage of His Highness Sheikh Hamdan bin Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Crown Prince of Dubai and Chairman of the Executive Council of Dubai, I am honoured to welcome you to the Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum Solar Park, this sustainable landmark today hosts the opening of the Solar Decathlon Middle East 2018. This year’s competition is particularly important as it takes place during the Year of Zayed, which marks 100 years since the birth of our Founding Father, the late Sheikh Zayed bin Sultan Al Nahyan, a man of the environment and a pioneer of sustainability. His approach is continued by the wise leadership of His Highness Sheikh Khalifa bin Zayed Al Nahyan, President of the UAE; His Highness Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Vice President and Prime Minister of the UAE and Ruler of Dubai; and His Highness Sheikh Mohamed bin Zayed Al Nahyan, Crown Prince of Abu Dhabi and Deputy Supreme Commander of the UAE Armed Forces. The UAE gives priority to innovation as an approach to develop sustainable solutions for the challenges that face mankind. It believes in the potential and capabilities of youth as the driving force for building a brighter future. The Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum Solar Park has been selected to host this important event, as it is the largest single-site solar park in the world. It supports our efforts to achieve the Dubai Clean Energy Strategy 2050 to provide 75% of Dubai’s total power output from clean energy, and make Dubai the city with the lowest carbon footprint in the world by 2050,” said Saeed Al Tayer.

“His Highness Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum once said, “We may not live for hundreds of years, but the products of our creativity can leave a legacy long after we are gone.” His Highness always emphasises the need to encourage young people and provide them with a suitable environment for creativity and innovation, to help achieve the sustainable development goals and support global efforts to combat climate change. This leading international competition is organised by the Dubai Supreme Council of Energy and DEWA with the US Department of Energy, for the first time in the Middle East and Africa. Dubai is part of these pioneering efforts and is hosting two consecutive competitions, with the second Solar Decathlon being held in conjunction with Expo 2020 Dubai,” added Al Tayer.

“Sustainability has always had a strong presence in this region. Our ancestors used natural materials to build houses that adapted to the surrounding environ

Poll

How did you find the experience of browsing our site?

Vote

No option has been selected
H

اخبار




أحمد بن سعيد يفتتح مسابقة "ديكاثلون الطاقة الشمسية - الشرق الأوسط 2018" في مجمع محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم للطاقة الشمسية

١٤ نوفمبر, ٢٠١٨  
14 نوفمبر, 2018: افتتح سمو الشيخ أحمد بن سعيد آل مكتوم، رئيس المجلس الأعلى للطاقة في دبي، المسابقة العالمية للجامعات لتصميم المنازل المعتمدة على الطاقة الشمسية (ديكاثلون الطاقة الشمسية - الشرق الأوسط 2018) التي تنظمها هيئة كهرباء ومياه دبي تحت رعاية سمو الشيخ حمدان بن محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم، ولي عهد دبي رئيس المجلس التنفيذي، في الفترة من 14 وحتى 29 نوفمبر الجاري في مجمع محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم للطاقة الشمسية في منطقة سيح الدحل بدبي.

حضر مراسم الافتتاح معالي مطر حميد الطاير، رئيس مجلس إدارة هيئة كهرباء ومياه دبي، وسعادة/ سعيد محمد الطاير، نائب رئيس المجلس الأعلى للطاقة في دبي، والعضو المنتدب الرئيس التنفيذي لهيئة كهرباء ومياه دبي، وسعادة داوود الهاجري، مدير عام بلدية دبي، وسعادة أحمد بطي المحيربي، أمين عام المجلس الأعلى للطاقة في دبي، وسعادة محمد أبونيان، رئيس مجلس إدارة شركة أكواباور السعودية، ومحمد جميل الرمحي، الرئيس التنفيذي لشركة أبوظبي لطاقة المستقبل (مصدر)، ونجيب العلي، المدير التنفيذي لمكتب إكسبو 2020 دبي، وجوان غليكمان، مستشار أول في وزارة الطاقة الأمريكية، وعدد من سفراء وقناصل الدول التي تشارك فرقها في المسابقة، إضافة إلى حشد من الإعلاميين.

تخلل حفل الافتتاح جولة لسمو الشيخ أحمد بن سعيد آل مكتوم يرافقه معالي مطر حميد الطاير وسعادة/ سعيد محمد الطاير، وعدد من المسؤولين في موقع المسابقة للاطلاع على المنازل الذكية والمستدامة التي صممها وبناها 15 فريقاً يمثلون 28 جامعة من 11 دولة حول العالم.

وفي كلمته الافتتاحية خلال حفل الافتتاح، قال سعادة/ سعيد الطاير: "تحت الرعاية الكريمة لسمو الشيخ حمدان بن محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم، ولي عهد دبي رئيس المجلس التنفيذي، يشرفني أن أرحب بكم في مجمّع محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم للطاقة الشمسية، هذا الصرح المستدام الذي يشهد اليوم افتتاح المسابقة العالمية لتصميم المنازل المعتمدة على الطاقة الشمسية (ديكاثلون الطاقة الشمسية-الشرق الأوسط 2018). وتكتسب هذه الدورة من المسابقة أهمية خاصة خلال "عام زايد" الذي نحتفي خلاله بمرور مئة عام على ميلاد رائد الاستدامة ورجل البيئة الأول، المغفور له بإذن الله الوالد المؤسس الشيخ زايد بن سلطان آل نهيان طيب الله ثراه، وعلى نهجه تسير القيادة الرشيدة لسيدي صاحب السمو الشيخ خليفة بن زايد آل نهيان رئيس الدولة حفظه الله، وسيدي صاحب السمو الشيخ محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم، نائب رئيس الدولة رئيس مجلس الوزراء حاكم دبي رعاه الله، وصاحب السمو الشيخ محمد بن زايد آل نهيان، ولي عهد أبوظبي نائب القائد الأعلى للقوات المسلحة. وتولي دولة الامارات العربية المتحدة أهمية كبرى للابتكار كنهج استشرافي لتطوير حلول مستدامة للتحديات التي تواجه البشرية، وتؤمن بقدرات وإمكانات الشباب باعتبارهم القوة الدافعة لبناء مستقبل أكثر إشراقاً. ويأتي اختيار مجمّع محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم للطاقة الشمسية لتنظيم هذا الحدث الهام، كونه أكبر مشروعات الطاقة الشمسية في العالم في موقع واحد، ويدعم جهودنا لتحقيق استراتيجية دبي للطاقة النظيفة 2050 لتوفير 75% من طاقة دبي من مصادر الطاقة النظيفة، وأن تكون دبي المدينة الأقل في البصمة الكربونية على مستوى العالم بحلول عام 2050".

وأضاف سعادته: "يقول سيدي صاحب السمو الشيخ محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم رعاه الله: "لن نعيش مئات السنين، ولكن يمكن أن نبدع شيئاَ يستمر لمئات السنين" ويشدد سموه دائماً على أهمية تشجيع الشباب وتوفير البيئة المناسبة لهم للإبداع والابتكار للمساهمة في دعم أهداف التنمية المستدامة ورفد الجهود العالمية للحد من تغير المناخ من خلال مبادرات وبرامج ومشاريع رائدة تسهم في خفض انبعاثات الكربون، وتأتي هذه المسابقة العالمية التي ينظمها المجلس الأعلى للطاقة في دبي وهيئة كهرباء ومياه دبي، مع وزارة الطاقة الأمريكية، للمرة الأولى في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وإفريقيا ضمن هذه الجهود الرائدة، حيث تستضيف دبي دورتين متتاليتين وسيتم تنظيم الدورة الثانية بعد عامين بإذن الله، تزامناً مع إكسبو 2020 دبي".

وأضاف سعادة الطاير: "لطالما كانت الاستدامة حاضرة بقوة في هذه المنطقة من العالم، حيث استخدم أسلافنا المواد الطبيعية في بناء بيوت ومنازل تتناغم مع البيئة الطبيعية المحيطة كما شيدوا البراجيل لتكون بمثابة مكيفات هواء طبيعية للتغلب على درجات الحرارة المرتفعة. واليوم، يقدم 15 فريقاً من الشباب يمثلون 28 جامعة من 11 دولة في أربع قارات حول العالم، انطلاقاً من دولة الإمارات، حاضنة الابتكار ووجهة المبدعين، بيوتاً ذكية تسهم في توفير نمط حياة سعيد ومستدام، تستخدم الطاقة النظيفة وتتميز بالكفاءة من حيث التكلفة واستهلاك الطاقة".

وأشار سعادة/ سعيد الطاير

استفتاء

كيف وجدت تجربة تصفحك لموقع مؤسسة دبي للإعلام؟

صوّت هنا

لم يتم اختيار أي من الآراء
H